openingday1

Passion. Everyone has it in some form. Whether it’s for school, movies, music, cars, sports, or anything else, everyone has at least one passion in their life.

I may be wrong in saying this, but I don’t think passion can be taught. I believe that it is something that you’re born with. Sure, you get to know eventually what you like and dislike, and that is where your passion grows from. Maybe I’m contradicting myself here, I don’t know.

What I do know is that I have a passion for baseball and softball. It is the greatest American pastime that is always exciting and never gets old. Opening Day in the MLB is one of my favorite days of the year. From sitting up in the bleachers, you can see a massive American flag spread over centerfield while both teams are lined up on either baseline, hats removed and covering their hearts as the National Anthem is being bellowed out. At the end of the song, the entire stadium erupts in cheers as fireworks explode and fighter jets fly over the stadium. This was opening day at the Angels stadium in Southern California last year. How more American can you get?

1408947_SP_0409_angels_WJS

This past weekend, I had the honor of seeing one of my best friends do what she’s passionate about. Michelle LaCourse and I met each other when we were little kids playing softball in Huntington Beach. She went on to become a superstar at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and is now an assistant coach of the softball team she led to several SoCon Championships.

softball1

It was so great seeing Michelle do what she loves. She is a natural born coach. She gets paid to do what she loves. Isn’t that everyone’s dream job? You are truly an inspiration, Michelle!

Watching the college teams play on Saturday brought back so many memories for me. The excitement you get from playing competitive softball is like no other. Every play counts. Every battle at the plate needs to be won. I wish my passion translated into my skills, which we OK, but never great. I was, however, a great bunter! Ha!

bats

The sport of baseball makes my heart incredibly happy. The passion that the players and coaches possess is undeniable. MLB Spring Training is about half over now. I cannot wait until regular season starts!

