1.11

I never thought that I would EVER say these words in my life: I’M A TRIATHLETE!!! Absolutely insane.

I have overcome several challenging events in my life, including losing 80 pounds and keeping it off. I am well aware that I still have weight I need to lose, but I try my hardest to not focus on how far I need to go, but remember how far I have come. My rock bottom was my senior year in college where I had to walk, I’m sorry, LIMP around campus with the assistance of a cane because I couldn’t walk due to severe bursitis in my hip. I wasn’t a fan of feeling like a 90-year-old woman when my life should have just been starting.

The weight had to go, and it did. Slowly. But Rome wasn’t built in a day, right? I had a great support system and a close friend of mine was with me from the beginning. She would run with me several times a week and we would also do some weight training together. She helped me learn how to eat clean and the right amount of food. She was a constant cheerleader and she still is, even 3,000 miles away. She was the one who planted the seed in my mind to participate in a triathlon. I just laughed.

I thought, there is NO WAY I could ever complete a swim in the ocean followed by a bike ride followed by a run. Only crazy people do that, right?

1.1

Enter in my team of CRAZY Tri Sistas!! I really don’t think that any of them would be offended by the “crazy” term either 🙂

I have done some grueling workouts in my day, but these ones top the others! Especially in Florida, where you can chew the air while you run. Gross!

I cannot express how grateful I am to have found these amazing, empowering women. I would have been completely lost without them. This sport (or should I say THREE sports) intimidated me a lot. I had never been on a road bike nor have swam in open water. The anxiety really set in when I registered for my first race. I had eight weeks of training before the big day. This group of women took me under their wings and showed me the ropes and unconditional support. I thought I would be too weird for them, but surprisingly, I fit right in 😉

Race day came and I was a ball of nerves. But I got out there and did it. I completed my first triathlon in one hour and 33 minutes. My two goals for my first tri were to 1) complete the dang thang and 2) finish in under two hours. And I did both! After I crossed that finish line, I got massive hugs from all of my teammates and I cried. Tears of joy, that is. All the blood, sweat and tears that go into training for a triathlon came together that day. I proved myself wrong – I completed a triathlon!!

Starting line!
Starting line!

1.3 1.4 1.5 1.8 1.9 1.12

I feel like I’m talking in circles now, but this experience has been a great one. And it continues on! I am currently training with my team for another triathlon in November. I want to push myself to get faster and stronger and improve my time in all three areas of the race. I can’t thank my teammates enough for helping me through this process. It’s been an amazing ride and I feel like I have Sistas for life!

1.7

