I decided to redesign my blog, not only in the look, but the name as well. One constant thing in life that I can count on is change. Challenges, experiences, and adventures have changed, formed, and molded me into the person I am today.

Renaming my blog “Training for Life” sounds cheesy and cliché, but that’s how I currently view my life. In the past year, I became a triathlete, therefore I am always training and striving to become a better athlete than I was yesterday.

Naples

My next official training season starts July 19 and I’ll be working towards completing my first Olympic distance triathlon. The swim is the best leg of the race for me, so I’m not too worried about that. I have improved a lot on the bike in the past year (should probably switch my pesky pedals out again though…), so I’m feeling pretty confident on two wheels, but there is always room to get better, both in the swim and bike.

And then there is running. My biggest rival. This past season I worked on breaking down my form, trying to forget all of my bad habits and reconstruct my run into something better. Talk about impossible! On nearly every run, I felt like a turtle crawling through quicksand. My mental game was weak when it came to running too. I always told myself excuses as to why I couldn’t do the run. I was frustrated on every run and felt completely defeated.

These feelings weren’t going to change unless I changed them myself. I’m still training myself to cut the negative talk and add positive mantras to my runs. Before my last race, my coach told me to think of everything outside of myself: thank God that I can actually run, thank Him for the beautiful nature surrounding me, don’t worry about other people passing you, etc. I try to think outside of my head on every run now. God has given me two legs to run with, a healthy heart to pump blood, lungs to take on my breathing, eyes to take in the beauty that He created, and the list goes on. My mental game is much better, I’m just still waiting for those rockets in my new shoes to kick in 😉 One day!!

brooks

Another thing that I changed this past season was my eating habits, again. I was feeling in a slump and was getting upset that I wasn’t losing weight like I thought I should be. I had gained some weight back going through all stages of a relationship: new fling, comfort level and then the breakup. After I grieved that loss, I focused on training again, but was still not seeing the results that I thought I should see. I sent a food log to my coach and she challenged me to go plant-based for three weeks. (At the time, I was eating some sort of animal product three times a day.) I accepted the challenge because I knew that I needed a change. I also watched the documentary, Forks Over Knives. I thought the movie was very informative and I started looking into the plant-based life even more.

My eyes were opened up to a world that I didn’t even know existed. Yes, I’m fully aware that there are vegetarians and vegans out there in the world, I just never thought that I would be one of them one day. I have consumed meat, milk and eggs my entire life. However, through the challenge that my coach proposed, I have completely changed how I eat. I am on a plant-based diet now and have lost 13 pounds since I started eight weeks ago. I have a ways to go till I hit my goal weight, but I’m just glad to see the numbers decrease again. Believe me when I say that my eating habits are not perfect. I will struggle and will fail, but I will never give up. That’s not an option. Goals must be reached!

FOK

Another big change in my life was that I became an Auntie! And last month, I FINALLY got to meet my handsome nephew, Colin Huston Carrick. He is a real gem!

Colin

It’s difficult being 3,000 miles away from my family, but it’s another challenge that I’m coping with. I hope and pray that I can be a part of Colin’s life as much as possible. Confession – I cried when I first held him. He was already four months old when I first met him. He had grown so much since I saw his infant pictures!

Colin’s birth was a great reminder to me to live life to the fullest. Time goes by in an instant and everything is constantly changing. Change is good. Either through positive or negative experiences, we can learn something and apply it to our lives. That’s why I always feel like I’m training every day. I’m training physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. I’m training for life.

