Time. It’s something that constantly changes with every second, but is never guaranteed. Everyone who is reading this post currently has time on their side but you don’t know how long you have. You could have another 90 years of life or 90 seconds. It’s not up to you either.

Iron Maiden sums it up in their song “Wasted Years”:

“I close my eyes, and think of home
Another city goes by in the night
Ain’t it funny how it is, you never miss it ’til it’s
gone away
And my heart is lying there and will be ’til my
dying day

So understand
Don’t waste your time always searching for
those wasted years
Face up… make your stand
And realize you’re living in the golden years

Now is your time. Now is the time of your life. The best years of your life are not to come. You’re living in them now. So, cherish the time that you have. Love your family and friends. Take advantage of new opportunities and adventures. Live is a precious gift and you should embrace it and live it to the fullest.

In the spirit of living my life the best way I know how, I took a trip home to wrap up my birthday celebrations in Huntington Beach, California.

My best friend and sista from another mista purchased Iron Maiden tickets as my birthday gift. These were not your ordinary tickets. No sir. These tickets were IN THE PIT!! JB and I have been seeing this amazing band together for 11 years now. I can’t believe it’s been that long! We have never seen them in the pit before, until now.

The set list was flawless, the music was brilliant, Bruce Dickinson showed us how to dance like a monkey, and Eddie filled the stage with savage terror. And we were up close and personal to witness it all.

This tour is following Dickinson’s battle with tongue cancer, and it is a comeback for the books! The man is unstoppable. He literally RUNS all over the stage, either waving a massive flag or ripping out Eddie’s heart and throwing it into the fire. Ah, what a life. That’s exactly what he’s doing too – LIVING.

The next day, I joined my friend at the new fancy schmancy gym she is a member of, Equinox. It is AMAZING!! Right in the heart of the new Pacific City, in downtown Huntington Beach. We participated in a ridiculously intense spin class and I absolutely loved it. It was a competition class broken down into three 10 minute segments and I took third place overall for the women! Yeah buddy!!

Where this gym excels is its amenities. It’s like working out in a day spa. Everything was provided for you, including cold eucalyptus scented towels. Yeah, that’s right. It was amazing. Don’t forget about that VIEW too! It overlooks the Huntington Beach Pier and you can see the famous Ruby’s on the end. It was a gorgeous day!!

2

Saturday night wrapped up with one of my all-time favorite activities: a beach bonfire!

9

It was windy, but my friends braved the elements and joined me for a fire and s’mores on the beach. It was great catching up with everyone and I am so grateful to have these special people in my life. Ya can’t beat those beach sunsets either!

10

Sunday Funday was spent with my precious family. It makes me sad that I am missing out on watching my nephew grow-up, but I cherish the times we all have together even more. A day in the park chasing after ducks was the best way to end my trip.

3

The first 29 years of my life have been incredible. I am truly blessed by God with everything and everyone He has given me. I am happy that I have taken chances in my life and I have learned from the good and the bad.

Time is something that I currently have and I pray that I have a lot more of it. No time is wasted in this life. I truly am living in my golden years.

 

 

